2014 Friedman Conference Speakers

2014 Friedman Conference Speakers - The Australian Taxpayers' Alliance


Dr Patrick Michaels

pmichaels (1)Patrick J. Michaels is the director of the Center for the Study of Science at the Cato Institute. Michaels is a past president of the American Association of State Climatologists and was program chair for the Committee on Applied Climatology of the American Meteorological Society. He was a research professor of Environmental Sciences at University of Virginia for thirty years. Michaels was a contributing author and is a reviewer of the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007.

His writing has been published in the major scientific journals, including Climate ResearchClimatic ChangeGeophysical Research LettersJournal of ClimateNature, and Science, as well as in popular serials worldwide. He is the author or editor of six books on climate and its impact, and he was an author of the climate “paper of the year” awarded by the Association of American Geographers in 2004. He has appeared on most of the worldwide major media. Michaels holds A.B. and S.M. degrees in biological sciences and plant ecology from the University of Chicago, and he received a Ph.D. in ecological climatology from the University of Wisconsin at Madison in 1979.


Trisha Jha

jha-trisha-low  Trisha Jha is a Policy Analyst at the Centre for Independent Studies.

Trisha has recently completed a Bachelor of Arts in International Relations at the Australian National University. She has a strong interest in classical liberal ideas and has been actively involved writing and debating the issues of the day. Trisha will be working in the social policy area specifically on issues relating to family payments and Paid Parental Leave.






Cassandra Wilkinson

wilkinson-cassandra-low Cassandra Wilkinson is the External Engagement Manager of the Centre for Independent Studies.

She has previously worked as a columnist for The Australian and a regular commentator for Sky News Agenda, the Bolt Report and ABC’s The Drum . She is also co-founder and President of FBi Radio and previously worked as transport advisor to former New South Wales Premier Kristina Keneally. Wilkinson is the author of Don’t Panic – Nearly Everything is Better Than You Think, and has written on Happiness Economics in Happiness [Spinney Press 2008] and on effective programs for the poor in Right Social Justice {Connor Court 2012}.




Tim Wilson

Tim WilsonTim Wilson is the Australian Human Rights Commissioner, and an international public policy analyst. He previously worked as the Director of Climate Change Policy and the Intellectual Property and Free Trade Unit at the Institute of Public Affairs. Tim has also served on the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade’s IP industry consultative group as well being a Senior Fellow at New York’s Center for Medicine in the Public Interest. He can be seen and heard being outspoken, challenging and thought provoking on 3AW, Sky News and the ABC and pens columns in the The Australian and Australian Financial Review. He has a Masters of Diplomacy and Trade and a Bachelor of Arts from Monash University, a Diploma of Business and has completed Asialink’s Leaders Program at the University of Melbourne.





David Leyonhjelm
imagesDavid Leyonhjelm is Senator-Elect for New South Wales, and the first person from a libertarian party elected to an Australian Parliament.

David has had an interest in politics since the early 1970s when, as a member of Young Labor, he worked on the It's Time campaign to help end military conscription. The following decade he joined the Liberal Party in an effort to promote economic freedom, resigning in 1996 in disgust at John Howard's extremist gun laws.

David is married and owns an agribusiness consulting company in Sydney. A former veterinarian, he also has degrees in business and law. His sporting interest is target shooting.

He has a classical liberal outlook, favouring individual choice and freedom over government intrusion.


Helen Dale

Lara Jeffery

Siobhan Harris

Rachael Connor



Join ATA on Social Media:

Share our message of less taxes,
regulation and wasteful spending