2015 Friedman Conference Program

2015 Friedman Conference Program - The Australian Taxpayers' Alliance

Click HERE to download the full conference booklet!

Friday 1st of May

6:00pm Informal Drinks with Professor Jim Allan
The Occidental Hotel
43 York Lane, Sydney NSW


Saturday 2nd of May

8:00am Registration
9:00am Introduction & Welcome
9:10am Dr Tom PalmerExecutive Vice-President for International Development, Atlas Network on "State Control or Self Control"
9:50am Tim WilsonAustralian Human Rights Commissioner on "Property Rights as Human Rights"
10:20am Morning Tea
10:40am Breakout Session A: Progress & Poverty (Dr Mikayla NovakInstitute of Public Affairs; Duncan Spender, Senior Adviser to Senator Leyonhjelm; Michael Potter)Session B:  Civil Liberties (Joel Murray, Sex Party; Dr Ben O'Neil, University of New South Wales (ADFA), Chris Berg, Institute of Public Affairs)
11:40am Breakout Session C: Liberty and Technology (Dan Nolan, Proxima; Stephan Livera, Peace & Markets; Darcy Allen, Institute of Public Affairs)Breakout Session DCivil Society & Development (Molly Thrasher, TryFreedom Stories, Dr Reuben Mendez , Macquarie University, Jeremy BalkinKarma Capital)
12:30pm Lunch + Ladies For Liberty Private Lunch
1:30pm Federalism Panel (Professor Jim Allen, University of QueenslandJulian Leeser, Australian Catholic University; Dr Keith Kendall, La Trobe University; Professor Sinclair DavidsonRMIT University)
3:00pm Afternoon Tea
3:30pm Trish HepworthAustralian Digital Alliance on "Online Freedom and 'Copywrong' legislation"
4:20pm Mark LathamFormer Federal Opposition Leader on "The Triumph of Politics"
5:00pm Close
6:00pm VIP Only Cocktail Reception
7:00pm Dinner with Keynote Speaker Senator David Leyonhjelm, Presentation of the Liberty Awards, and a Performance by Remy


Sunday 3rd of May

8:30am Registration
9:00am Introduction & Welcome
9:10am Mick Palmer, Former Australian Federal Police Commissioner on "I Can No Longer Ignore The Evidence On Drugs"
9:50am Dr Vera L. te VeldeUniversity of Queensland on "Behavioural Economics"
10:20am Morning Tea
10:40am Breakout Session E: Regulation (Alex Hawke MP, Liberal Member for Mitchell; Rebecca Wiessner, Writer & Editor)Breakout Session F: Foreign Affairs (Trisha Jha, Centre for Independent Studies; The Hon Dr Peter Phelps MLC, Government Whip in the NSW Legislative Council; Mark Hornshaw, Notre Dame University)
11:40pm Breakout Session G: Liberty Around The World (Rebecca Lawrence, WA Young Liberals; Topher Field, Producer, Director and Activist, Dan RyanLion Rock Institute, moderated by  Ron Manners, Mannkal Economic Education Foundation)Breakout Session H: How To Be A Libertarian (Parnell McGuinnes, Thoughtbroker; Helen Dale, Senior Adviser to Senator Leyonhjelm, Rod Schneider, No Curfew)
12:30pm Lunch,  VIP Luncheon & "Droning on - a presentation of Drone technology by Vikas Nayak"
2:00pm An Agenda For Reform (Andrew Norton, Grattan Institute; Simon Cowan, Centre for Independent Studies; Terry Barnes, Cormorant Policy Advice).
3:00pm  Afternoon Tea
3:30pm Iain Murray, Vice-President of Strategy, Competitive Enterprise Institute on "Socialism 2.0: The Rule of the Regulators"
4:20pm Remy Munasifi,  "Comedy Against the State"
5:00pm Close

Join ATA on Social Media:

Share our message of less taxes,
regulation and wasteful spending