Our Team

Our Team - The Australian Taxpayers' Alliance

Executive Director: Tim Andrews



Tim Andrews is a graduate of the University of Sydney, graduating with a Bachelor of Economics (Social Sciences), a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and a Masters of Public Policy. Whilst studying, he served two terms as Federal President of the Australian Liberal Students’ Federation, and in 2007 he was elected to the Board of Management of the HR Nicholls Society, a position he continues to hold today.  He has considerable experience in grassroots and taxpayer advocacy, both in Australia  and internationally, including employment at the Washington DC based Americans for Tax Reform. He is not a member of any political party. Tim Andrews is the creator and Managing Editor of www.menzieshouse.com.au



Deputy Director: John Humphreys



John Humphreys is Queensland based economist and current PhD student at the University of Queensland.  John received his economics honours degree from the University of Queensland before going on to work as a Policy Analyst with the Commonwealth Treasury, Consultant with the Centre for International Economics and a Research Fellow at the Centre for Independent Studies. John is the founder and President of the humanitarian non-profit Human Capital Project, and also the Director of the Australian Libertarian Society.




Director of Operations: Austen Erickson




Austen Erickson is the Chairman Emeritus of the Australia and New Zealand Students for Liberty Executive Board. He is also a Director of the Australian Libertarian Society *. Austen is currently a PhD student in Applied Mathematics at the University of New South Wales. He holds an MSc in Applied Mathematics from Northwestern University, and a triple BSc from the University of Rochester in Mathematics, Physics, and Environmental Science.


MyChoice Australia Director: Lara Jeffery



Lara Jeffery is a network-focused communicator and community organiser. She has industry experience in media, parliament, community and volunteering work, sports and hospitality, at home and in the United States where she worked with Young Americans for Liberty and Americans for Tax Reform. Lara is completing a bachelor of media, public relations and advertising at the University of New South Wales, where she advocates for academic freedom as President of her campus’ chapter of Students for Liberty, and Treasurer of the national Australia and New Zealand Students for Liberty (ANZSFL).


Free Speech Australia Director: Rachel Connor

1474375_10202515681872158_50844210_nRachel is the founder and President of the UQ Students for Liberty, Vice-President of Australia & New Zealand Students for Liberty, and Secretary of the Human Capital Project. She has a degree in international studies (development and French) and a Master’s degree in development economics from the University of Queensland. Rachel has worked as an intern for the United Nations (New Delhi office), the Khmer Rouge Tribunal (Cambodia), and has volunteered overseas. She was previously the communications officer for the UQ Association of Postgraduate Students.

Events Manager: Rachael Wheldall




Rachael is a communications all-rounder, with extensive experience in marketing, event production and management, content and copywriting, business research, relationship management and all things online. She has worked closely with key Australian and international industry leaders in business, media and government. Rachael has a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Sydney, and is currently undertaking post graduate studies in marketing at Charles Sturt University. A digital native, Rachael is experienced in navigating and utilising the online world in a business context. Rachael is passionate about Australian politics, economics and global affairs, but retains a soft spot for English literature.

Operations Director: Celeste Arenas


Celeste Arenas is a third year Arts students at Sydney University. She is currently on the executive board of ANZSFL and is directing its first publication - The Gold Standard. She is also the Sydney University campus coordinator for the Institute of Public Affairs where she manages the new initiative - Generation Liberty. Her favourite role models are Milton Friedman, Ayn Rand and Gina Rinehart.

Amongst her responsibilities at the Australian Taxpayers' Alliance, she is the Administrator of the Australian Liberty Calendar.


Help Us Share Our Message

Share our message of less taxes, regulation and
wasteful spending